Special Feature: 16th Moët BIFA nominess announced

3 minutes



With awards season looming ominously on the horizon, today the British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs), in association with Moët, announced the nominees set to vie for accolades during their 16th annual ceremony on Sunday 8 December. Presided over by BIFA patron and Trainspotting star Ewan McGregor, David Mackenzie’s British prison drama Starred, starring Jack O’Connell and Ben Mendelsohn, came out on top with eight nominations including Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor (for O’Connell) and two Supporting Actor nominees for Mendelsohn and Rupert Friend. Also well-represented in the nominations were Clio Barnard’s The Selfish Giant (7), Filth and Le Week-End (with 5 each).

Joint Directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards’ Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson said: “We would like to thank our dedicated members who viewed over 200 films, in an extremely competitive year. The variety of films submitted reached a new level this year with films covering a range of subject matters and genres that perfectly showcases the diversity and creativity at work in British independent filmmaking today. Now our wonderful independent jury, announced today, will have the task of choosing the winners who will be the first to receive the newly launched iconic signature trophy designed by Fredrikson Stallard, created by Swarovski at the Moët British Independent Film Awards.”

The Moët British Independent Film Awards is proud to announce the following nominees for this year’s awards:

Best British Independent Film
Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up
Le Week-End

Best Director
Jon S. Baird – Filth
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Sean Ellis – Metro Manila
Jonathan Glazer – Under the Skin
David Mackenzie – Starred Up

Best Debut Director
Charlie Cattrall – Titus
Tina Gharavi – I Am Nasrine
Jeremy Lovering – In Fear
Omid Nooshin – Last Passenger
Paul Wright – For Those in Peril

Best Screenplay
Jonathan Asser – Starred Up
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Steven Knight – Locke
Hanif Kureishi – Le Week-End
Jeff Pope, Steve Coogan – Philomena

Best Actress
Judi Dench – Philomena
Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end
Scarlett Johansson – Under the Skin
Felicity Jones – The Invisible Woman
Saoirse Ronan – How I Live Now

Best Actor
Jim Broadbent – Le Week-end
Steve Coogan – Philomena
Tom Hardy – Locke
Jack O’Connell – Starred Up
James McAvoy – Filth

Best Supporting Actress
Siobhan Finneran – The Selfish Giant
Shirley Henderson – Filth
Imogen Poots – The Look Of Love
Kristin Scott Thomas – The Invisible Woman
Mia Wasikowska – The Double

Best Supporting Actor
John Arcilla – Metro Manila
Rupert Friend – Starred Up
Jeff Goldblum – Le Week-end
Eddie Marsan – Filth
Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up

Most Promising Newcomer
Harley Bird – How I Live Now
Conner Chapman/Shaun Thomas – The Selfish Giant
Caity Lotz – The Machine
Jake Macapagal – Metro Manila
Chloe Pirrie – Shell

Best Achievement in Production
A Field in England
Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up

Best Technical Achievement
Shaheen Baig (Casting) Starred Up
Johnnie Burn (Sound Design) – Under the Skin
Amy Hubbard (Casting) – The Selfish Giant
Mica Levi (Music) – Under the Skin
Justine Wright (Editing) – Locke

Best Documentary
Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer
The Great Hip Hop Hoax
The Moo Man
The Spirit of ’45
The Stone Roses: Made of Stone

Best British Short
Dr. Easy
Dylan’s Room

Best International Independent Film
Blue is the Warmest Colour
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha
The Great Beauty

The Raindance Award
Everyone’s Going to Die
The Machine
The Patrol
Sleeping Dogs

The 16th Moët British Independent Film Awards take place on Sunday 8 December. For more info, visit bifa.org.uk/2013.

Daniel Green

Founded in 2010, CineVue’s team of passionate cinéastes are working to bring you reviews of the latest cinema releases, as well as features, interviews and international film festival coverage.


As an independent film site, our aim is to highlight and champion some of the more diverse and lesser-known releases from the world of cinema.

Designed with WordPress