Baftas 2015: Five for ‘Grand Budapest’

Earlier this evening, Wes Anderson’s Berlin International Film Festival opener The Grand Budapest Hotel took the Baftas by storm, walking away with a total of five awards – most of which were for technical achievements. Following closely behind with three wins apiece were James Marsh’s Stephen Hawking drama The Theory of Everything and Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash, which also ushered in Bafta victories for actors Eddie Redmayne and J.K. Simmons. However, the two biggest accolades on the night were reserved for Richard Linklater’s Boyhood, the recipient of both Best Picture and Best Director. Best Actress went to Julianne Moore for Alzheimer’s weepy Still Alice and Best Supporting Actress to Patricia Arquette for her wonderful turn in Linklater’s Boyhood.

A full list of all of the 2015 Bafta winners can be found below:

Best Picture
Boyhood (dir. Richard Linklater)

Best British Film
The Theory of Everything (dir. James Marsh)

Best Director
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Actress
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Best Supporting Actor
J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Best Original Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Wes Anderson)

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Theory of Everything (Anthony Mccarten)

Best Foreign Language Film
Ida (Pawel Pawlikowski)

Best Documentary
Citizenfour (dir. Laura Poitras)

Best Animation
The Lego Movie (Phil Lord, Christopher Miller)

Best Cinematography
Birdman (Emmanuel Lubezki)

Best Editing
Whiplash (Tom Cross)

Best Production Design
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock)

Best Costume Design
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Milena Canonero)

Best Make Up and Hair
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Frances Hannon)

Best Sound
Whiplash (Thomas Curley, Ben Wilkins, Craig Mann)

Best Original Music
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Alexandre Desplat)

Best Special Visual Effects
Interstellar (Paul Franklin, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter)

Best British Short Animation
The Bigger Picture (Chris Hees, Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka)

Best British Short Film
Boogaloo and Graham (Brian J. Falconer, Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney)

Outstanding Debut by a British Creative
Stephen Beresford, David Livingstone (Pride)

The EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Jack O’Connell