Baftas 2021: Nomadland wins Best Film, Best Director

Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances Mcdormand, Peter Spears, Chloe Zhao - Best Film - Nomadland

The winners of this year’s EE British Academy Film Awards were announced earlier this evening at a Covid-safe, audience-less ceremony at London’s Royal Albert Hall. Nomadland was the big story of the night, winning both Best Film and Best Director for Chloe Zhao. Anthony Hopkins won Best Actor for The Father, while Frances McDormand was the recipient of Best Actress for Nomadland. Another Round won the award for Best Film Not in the English Language, while My Octopus Teacher was voted Best Documentary.

A full list of all films nominated and the eventual winners can be found below.

Best Film
The Father
The Mauritanian
Nomadland – WINNER
Promising Young Woman
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Outstanding British Film
Calm With Horses
The Dig
The Father
His House
The Mauritanian
Mogul Mowgli
Promising Young Woman – WINNER
Saint Maud

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
His House – Remi Weekes (writer/director) – WINNER
Limbo – Ben Sharrock (writer/director), Irune Gurtubai (producer) [also produced by Angus Lamont]
Moffie – Jack Sidey (writer/producer) [also written by Oliver Hermanus and produced by Eric Abraham]
Rocks – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)
Saint Maud – Rose Glass (writer/director), Oliver Kassman (producer) [also produced by Andrea Cornwell]

Best Film Not in the English Language
Another Round – WINNER
Dear Comrades!
Les Misérables
Quo Vadis, Aida?

Best Documentary
David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet
The Dissident
My Octopus Teacher – WINNER
The Social Dilemma

Best Animated Film

Best Director
Thomas Vinterberg, Another Round
Shannon Murphy, Babyteeth
Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
Chloé Zhao, Nomadland – WINNER
Jasmila Žbanić, Quo Vadis, Aida?
Sarah Gavron, Rocks

Best Original Screenplay
Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg, Another Round
Jack Fincher, Mank
Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman – WINNER
Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson, Rocks
Aaron Sorkin, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Adapted Screenplay
Moira Buffini, The Dig
Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller, The Father – WINNER
Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven, The Mauritanian
Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
Ramin Bahrani, The White Tiger

Best Actress
Bukky Bakray, Rocks
Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version
Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman
Frances McDormand, Nomadland – WINNER
Wunmi Mosaku, His House
Alfre Woodard, Clemency

Best Actor
Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Adarsh Gourav, The White Tiger
Anthony Hopkins, The Father – WINNER
Mads Mikkelsen, Another Round
Tahar Rahim, The Mauritanian

Best Supporting Actress
Niamh Algar, Calm With Horses
Kosar Ali, Rocks
Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Dominique Fishback, Judas and the Black Messiah
Ashley Madekwe, County Lines
Youn Yuh-jung, Minari – WINNER

Best Supporting Actor
Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah – WINNER
Barry Keoghan, Calm With Horses
Alan Kim, Minari
Leslie Odom Jr, One Night in Miami
Clarke Peters, Da 5 Bloods
Paul Raci, Sound of Metal

Best Original Score
News of the World
Promising Young Woman

Best Casting
Calm With Horses
Judas and the Black Messiah
Promising Young Woman
Rocks – WINNER

Best Cinematography
Judas and the Black Messiah
The Mauritanian
News of the World
Nomadland – WINNER

Best Editing
The Father
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal – WINNER
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Production Design
The Dig
The Father
News of the World

Best Costume Design
The Dig
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – WINNER

Best Make Up and Hair
The Dig
Hillbilly Elegy
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – WINNER

Best Sound
News of the World
Sound of Metal – WINNER

Best Special Visual Effects
The Midnight Sky
The One and Only Ivan
Tenet – WINNER

Best British Short Animation
The Fire Next Time
The Owl and the Pussycat – WINNER
The Song of a Lost Boy

Best British Short Film
Lucky Break
Miss Curvy
The Present – WINNER

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Bukky Bakray – WINNER
Kingsley Ben-Adir
Morfydd Clark
Ṣọpẹ Dìrísù
Conrad Khan

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema
Noel Clarke

Bafta Fellowship
Ang Lee

Daniel Green